SISTER ACT - MOVIE REVIEW HIGHLIGHT - Double Toasted

  • Published on Sep 6, 2018
  • #TheNun

    #SisterAct

    Sister Act - Retro Movie Review Highlight SISTER ACT: In honor of The Nun, Sammy and Chris take on a lighter film about the Catholic Church and nuns with Whoopi Goldberg and the 90’s hit comedy “Sister Act!” Will Sammy join the nuns to spice up their music? Will Chris get shot by the mafia? FIND OUT TONIGHT! Sister Act is a 1992 American comedy film directed by Emile Ardolino that stars Whoopi Goldberg as a lounge singer forced to join a convent after being placed in a witness protection program. It also features Maggie Smith, Kathy Najimy, Wendy Makkena, Mary Wickes, and Harvey Keitel. This film is one of the highest grossing comedies of the 90s and some people forget how much of a star Whoopi Goldberg was at the time. The full review features all songs from the movie and soundtrack, including a reference to Sister Act 2's Oh Happy Day and I Will Follow Him, Hail Holy Queen, and Oh Maria And for more funny videos, head on over to DoubleToasted.com for funny movie reviews, movie trailer reactions of official trailers of 2018 and 2019 live streamed for your viewing pleasure all throughout the week!

    https://doubletoasted.com/show/sammy-...

    FREE EPISODE (DIE HARD):

    https://soundcloud.com/kcoolman/sammy...

    FULL FREE AUDIO:

    https://doubletoasted.com/show/sammy-...

    GET DT MERCH: DTMERCH.COM FULL, UNEDITED SHOW:

  • Double Toasted
    Double Toasted 1 week ago

    I LIKE IT BETTER WITH KOREY AND MAR...oh wait...

  • evilmoif
    evilmoif 1 week ago

    Believe me - you will never find a more British name than Maggie Smith

  • ariwl1
    ariwl1 1 week ago

    This is an old nostalgic favorite of mine, also coming from a family with a big Catholic side. Like Sammy, I was really young when I first saw it. I didn't know what mobs were. I didn't know what adultery was. I understood murder and that was it. But I loved it because of the music and the funny nuns. It's when you grow up and realize how the movie pulls no punches that it becomes kind of amazing; like when Maggie Smith is savage but you love her character for it (since she isn't usually wrong). Also, I grew up about a half-hour away from Reno, and I nearly got whip-lash when I realized the movie paints Reno like some dystopian hellhole. Whoopi nonchalantly talks about passing dead people on the freeway and I'm sitting here like "WHAT?!" I think the movie's also notable in that it may be the most non-in-your-face religious movie I've ever seen. They mention God, and faith and other such things all the time but it never really feels like the movie is rubbing your face in it. It just feels natural since most of the characters are nuns living in a church and that's all.

  • Bryce Fryar
    Bryce Fryar 1 week ago

    Sister Act 2 is the iconic movie because it had so many young kids in it that went on to be big stars...Lauren Hill...Jennifer Love Hewitt....ect ect...

  • ToruKun1
    ToruKun1 1 week ago

    Whenever I see Sister Act I just think of how the Japanese exchange student who stayed at my friend's house when we were in middle school fucking LOVED Sister Act (it was really popular in Japan somehow? I guess because they think Catholic nuns are exotic)

  • Alex Hilber
    Alex Hilber 1 week ago

    Do they even make "family" movies anymore? Besides like animated film?

  • Marsh the God
    Marsh the God 1 week ago

    I LIKE IT BETTER WITH KOREY AND MAR...oh wait...

  • J.
    J. 1 week ago

    This movie is so great. Damnit. Gotta go watch it again!

  • Anthony Fantano
    Anthony Fantano 1 week ago

    Watch Bible Black

  • Tony Lawrence
    Tony Lawrence 1 week ago

    I'm Baptist. And I love Disney films a lot from when I was a child til now and it was one of my favorite films.

  • Raymond Frand
    Raymond Frand 1 week ago

    I never seen the first but i liked the sequel

  • rmeddy1
    rmeddy1 1 week ago

    Absolutely love this movie, saw this when I was 8 with my big Catholic family. Love the music, simple but silly premise but the cast and relationships were so charming Full Price

  • Jeremy Payne
    Jeremy Payne 1 week ago

    I like Leslie jones if she does do a Sister act remake I think it would be good casting

  • Ontann
    Ontann 1 week ago (edited)

    There are a bunch of old anime movies that you guys should try watching that could also work for the show. Idk if Sammy has seen any of Satoshi Kon's or Studio Ghibli films since those are the most well known when it comes to anime but if you guys wanna try something outside of those guys then some of my personal recommendations would be Jin Roh: The Wolf Brigade and Royal Space Force: The Wings of Honnêamise.

  • lukecage33
    lukecage33 1 week ago

    Ok Sammy hasn't seen anything I don't believe this they are lying.

  • MrAramis02
    MrAramis02 1 week ago

    Hail Gurls Hail mary, what's up? Jerusalem is a real drag. Everybody hates me.

  • Irrefutable Matt
    Irrefutable Matt 1 week ago (edited)

    nothing hugely remarkable about sister act to share it/pass the torch... its not last house on the beach(italian last house on the left with a nun) or ms45 or killer nun or all those movies with gangs of nunned up switchblade sisters... theres literally a whole genre of nuns doing crazy grindhouse shit...

  • Propjosh Parodies
    Propjosh Parodies 1 week ago

    Leslie Jones would be good in a remake, but I think they would DEFINITELY go with Tiffany Haddish.

  • Kenzi Henderson
    Kenzi Henderson 1 week ago

    For me I know this movie because a torch WAS passed down. So it is still happening its just not being announced

  • uknow who
    uknow who 1 week ago (edited)

    This is one of my favorite movies of all time! I am totally here for this review.